the name thing

1 Corinthians 13:4-7 NIV

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

In high school I saw somewhere to take that passage and put your name in it to remind you how to be. I then promptly forgot about it because I didn’t really care much for God most of high school. This morning I was drinking coffee and eating oatmeal with flax seeds and hoping that God would give me more energy from our time together before my 8 am lab (because whoever lives above me was apparently building furniture last night after midnight). He reminded me about that idea this morning.

Kaitlin is patient.

Kaitlin is kind.

She doesn’t envy.

She doesn’t boast.

She isn’t proud.

Kaitlin honors others.

She isn’t self-seeking.

She isn’t easily angered.

She is forgiving.

Kaitlin doesn’t delight in evil but rejoices in truth.

She protects, trusts, hopes, and perseveres.

That is love. God is love, and those verses say so clearly “love is” those things. If I’m trying be to be like God, then I’m trying to be like that passage. I was praying my way through those goals and then simply said “I want to be love.” God reminded me of John 15:13. Jesus said, “Greater love has no one than this: to lay down one’s life for one’s friends.” But in daily life, there’s not necessarily always something life threatening going on to cause you to need to lay your life down. There’s just the daily grind and 1000 tiny choices and interactions. But by being patient and kind and humble etc. we are BEING love and in spirit laying our lives down for our brothers and sisters. This is the greatest love.

Try the name thing. Be love in the world.

Leave a Reply

